Manic Diner

Note: Like a fool, I played through much of this day and some of tomorrow without first starting my screengrab software (Fraps), so today’s images are recreated as best I could using an old save. Also some parts I failed to grab completely anyway, as I was too busy running away and screeching. Sorry about that.

With Big Town proving a total waste of time, and apparently a target for all the local troublemakers, I decide to give it a wide berth in future, and head back to my caravan. I also strip the meat and some body parts from the wild animals I’ve killed and stash it by my mattress, along with a few bits of junk I’ve collected. Hopefully it’ll all still be there if I need it. I noticed a few people moving on the bridge opposite, but on moving closer it seems like they could be trouble – lots of guns, lots of spikey armour. Maybe they’re even the guys who were harassing Big Town? Either way, not worth the risk – I don’t have the skills or equipment to take on a whole gang if they turn nasty.

So, with two wide berthing zones established, I head in the opposite direction, up the hill behind and to the right of my caravan, which I’ve just this second decided to call La Cáscara. Note to self: be awake at sunset to check which way is West.

Uphill proves more interesting. I discover a few boarded up shops, a subway station, and a burned out diner with some junk in. Mostly cups and some tin cans, but I can’t afford to be picky.

I've eaten in worse places, to be fair.

While I’m in there, I’m startled by a crazy-looking red-haired woman in goggles, who comes running up to me and shouts about how “those raiders” have strapped a bomb to her, and asks me for help. Yeah, good one, lady. That’s a real thigh-slapper. My experience in dealing with explosives has only granted me the valuable skill of not being anywhere near them at any time. After I impress this on her, she runs off, howling. No explosion follows, so um… some kind of local lunatic?

Just in case, I look back up the road in the direction she came from, and sure enough, two rough looking guys appear in the distance. Hm.

I hide inside the diner and watch them walk past. Best not to interfere – if they can make a bomb they can probably handle those guns better than I can, and I don’t even have body armour.


(This scene will make a lot more sense if you imagine the cows have guns. This is also good advice to live by in general. Cows are creepy.)

Once they’ve gone I look into the building you can see nearby – some kind of shop. Some wag has set it up as an obvious booby trap; there’s methane leaking from somewhere and a Rube Goldberg system of pressure plates, boxes, and gas canisters. I disarm the trap and empty a first aid kit on the wall. Nothing in it but a blood pack and a hairpin, which I might be able to use as a lockpick. Better than nothing I guess.

Leaving quickly, I have a scan of the horizon. There seems to be a lot of wildlife. Some big boar-like animals are running around, and a few dogs too. Can’t tell if they’re chasing each other or part of the same pack, but either way, they look pretty mean. I also notice that there are birds circling on the other side of the hill, in the direction the bomb-woman and the raiders headed. If I remember my studies right, birds mean water, and maybe dying people. Water is good news, and dying people might mean bodies I can loot.

Feckin' bords again.

Ought to investigate that as soon as I can. I’m still sore from those animal attacks though, and it’ll be dark in a few hours. Time to get some rest, I think. I head back to La Cáscara, have a drink and eat the food packets I started out with, then lie down for a while. Going to be a long day tomorrow.

1 Comment

Filed under Fallout 3, Stayin' alive

One response to “Manic Diner

  1. DarkVeghetta

    Really like your style of wordplay, very fitting to the atmosphere as well. You may even inspire me to pick up Fallout 3 again at some point during this read. (moved from t3h old to t3h new PC and hence need to re-install).

Leave a Reply

